Blog Post 27: Initial Production

Within Greg’s session (26/04/19), I continued with the production process of my project. Instead of focusing on my existing drafts, I decided to create new content that I know I will definitely include within my magazine. I will probably continue with the creation of new content next week as well.

Once I  have created all of the content I need, I will go back over my existing drafts and edit them according to the tone and style I would have eventually developed.

Below is the first draft of a gig review I have written for my magazine. The review is written about L//NES’ recent performance at Margate’s Dreamland:

LIINES Gig Review 19-04-19

Overall, this session has allowed me to just write freely again. By writing from first-hand experience, I was able to detail certain aspects of the event that I wouldn’t have been able to if I hadn’t attended at all. Without the excessive use of notes I found, yet again, that my writing flowed much better. I was able to implement my creative writing style into my work as well, through the use of certain linguistic devices e.g. imagery, adjectives, metaphors etc.

1 thought on “Blog Post 27: Initial Production”

  1. and create their own path – could you carry the metaphor on here: copy cats, herd
    – trail, track

    much alive; alive in the – use colon instead. Colon is either a list or can be read as illustrating the previous part of the sentence.
    https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/semi-colons-colons-and-dashes/

    All in all – avoid phrases like this

    blind eye on this band – to this band
    Plus is this a song title? – is there a song title that you could use instead?

    I asked a student to read this: she was impressed and said you had summed the gig up perfectly – her exact words were “sick”.

    This is a very effective piece of writing – especially for a first draft. Excellent work.

    Usual summary also very good.

    Like

Leave a comment